secondary banner image
Middle Division Collegiate Meeting
General Information

The Middle Collegiate Division Meeting of the Tennessee Academy of Science is scheduled for Saturday, April 15, 2023 at Volunteer State Community College in Gallatin, TN!

Meeting Instructions - (NO POSTERS)

Only undergraduate researchers are welcome to give a 12 minute oral Powerpoint presentation in agriculture, botany, cell and molecular biology, chemistry, ecology & environmental science, engineering & engineering technology, geology and geography, health and medical sciences, history of science, mathematics/computer science, microbiology, physics and astronomy, science/math teaching, and zoology (NO POSTERS).

Abstracts: Due by Friday, March 24, 2023. Please click here to download the abstract submission form.

Send the abstract via email to Ms. Maryam Farsian ( Please indicate the topic/discipline in your email subject line to facilitate the organization of sections. Abstracts that do not follow the template will be returned to sender for correction

Tentative Agenda:

9:30 - 10:00 am: Check in, Warf Lobby

10:00 am - 12:00 pm: Student Presentations, Warf classrooms

12:00 - 1:00 pm: Reception and Awards Presentation, Rochelle Center

Location and Directions

Volunteer State Community College, 1480 Nashville Pike, Gallatin, TN 37066

For driving directions and a campus map, visit here

Contact Ms. Maryam Farsian with any questions or concerns regarding the meeting.

Past Meeting Information

On April 21st, 2018, Belmont University College of Sciences and Mathematics hosted the annual Middle Tennessee Collegiate Meeting of the Tennessee Academy of Science in the Janet Ayers Academic Center. This event has served as an opportunity for our students to highlight their scholarly work and has fostered collaboration with other local universities.

This year we had 24 students from Belmont University, Columbia State Community College, Tennessee State University, and Tennessee Tech University, present their research as oral presentations in one of four different sessions: 1. Chemistry 2. Cellular and Molecular Biology/Microbiology 3. Health and Medical Sciences 4. Zoology/Ecology/Environmental Sciences.<

All sessions were moderated and judged by faculty volunteers, who awarded 1st, 2nd, 3rd place certificates to the top three presenters in each session.

Following are the winners from each session:

Chemistry: 1st – Christopher Hansen (BU), 2nd – Alekzander Garcia (TSU), 3rd – Avery Daniels (BU).

Cellular and Molecular Biology/Microbiology: 1st – AC Dowd (BU), 2nd – Dana Cornwell (BU), 3rd – Brandi Duke (BU), and Honorable Mention – Haley Hatfield (BU).

Health and Medical Sciences: 1st – Rebecca Derby (BU), 2nd – Elizabeth Sparks (BU), 3rd - Sargoel Rezanejad (BU), and Honorable Mention – Christian Candler (BU).

Zoology/Ecology/Environmental Sciences: 1st – Taryn Anderson (BU), 2nd – States Labrum (CSCC), 3rd – Shaoyun Yang (BU), and Honorable Mention – Terra’lexus Roberts (BU).

Faculty judges: Dr. Lori McGrew (BU Biology), Dr. Steve Murphree (BU Biology), Dr. Danny Biles (BU Math), Dr. Justin Stace (BU Chemistry), Dr. Robert Grammer (BU Biology), Dr. John Niedzwiecki (BU Biology), Dr. Karen Kendall-Fite (Columbia State Community College), and Dr. Radhika Ramjee (Columbia State Community College).

The meeting was coordinated and run by Dr. Duane Hatch, Assistant Professor of Chemistry.

Dr. Nick Ragsdale (Biology) volunteered to order and pick up food for the event.