secondary banner image

This page contains a list of members that have recently passed away. Please let us know if you know of anyone whose name is missing from this list. The Chair of the Necrology Committee is Dr. Martin Stewart of Middle Tennessee State University. He can be reached at:

Necrology: 2013

Melburn (Mel) Mayfield

Founded the department of Physics at APSU in 1957. While at APSU he was the Department Chair, Director of the Center for Teachers and Vice President for University Advancement (when that was a VP position). He was 92.

Samuel Raymond Whitman

Samuel Raymond Whitman passed away on October 19, 2013. He taught General Biology (as we call it today) from 1978 to 1996 when he retired from TSU. However, he was well known as "Couch Whit" having been included into the TSU Sports Hall of Fame in 1983.

Florence Cox McFerrin

Florence Cox McFerrin passed away on October 4, 2013. Mrs. MdFerrin was employed by MTSU from September 1, 1951 until her retirement on June 3, 1978. She was an Assistant Professor in Mathematics/Computer Science.