JOURNAL OF THE Tennessee Academy of Science

VOLUME 93

NUMBERS 1-2

CONTENTS

Editor's Comments	1
President of the Tennessee Academy of Science for 2018	2
Proceedings of the Tennessee Academy of Science 2017 Executive Committee Meeting, April Executive Committee Meeting, November	3 5
Tennessee Academy of Science 127 th Meeting. Host of the 127th Meeting: University of Tennessee at Martin Distinguished Secondary School Science Teacher Award: 2017. Abstracts of Papers Presented at the 127 th Meeting Abstracts of Posters Presented at the 127 th Meeting. Best Student Presentation Awards	8 10 10 11 28 46
New Members of the Tennessee Academy of Science: 2017 Membership Year	49
Classification, Character, and Origin of Textural Zoning in Porphyroblasts: Significance and Relation to Strain. <i>Phyllis A. Camilleri</i>	50
Section Chairpersons for the 128th Meeting of the Tennessee Academy of Science.	61

Tennessee Academy of Science

EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE 2018

President

Dr. Sandy Mehlhorn Department of Agriculture, Geosciences and Natural Resources University of Tennessee at Martin 142 Brehm Hall Martin, TN 38238 Phone: 731-881-7253 Email: smehlhorn@utm.edu

Treasurer

Dr. C. Steven Murphree Department of Biology Belmont University 1900 Belmont Boulevard Nashville, TN 37212-3758 Phone: 615-460-6221 Email: steve.murphree@belmont.edu

Director, Junior Academy Dr. Preston MacDougall Middle Tennessee State University Department of Chemistry Box X101 Murphreesboro, TN 37132 Phone: 615-898-5265 FAX: 615-898-5182 Email: pmacdougall@mtsu.edu

Chairperson of Education and Research Cindi Smith-Walters Center for Environmental Education Middle Tennessee University Box 60 Murfreesboro, TN 37132 Phone: 615-898-5449 Email: cindi.smith-walters@mtsu.edu

Member-at-Large, 2018-2020: Dr. Greg Vicira Department of Physics Rhodes College Peyton Nalle Rhodes Tower, 406 Memphis, TN 38112 Phone: 901-843-3481 Email: vicirag@rhodes.edu

Past-President Dr. Daniel Swartling Department of Chemistry PO Box 5055 Tennessee Technological University Cookeville, TN 38505 Phone: 931-372-3431 Email: dswart@Intech.edu

Managing Editor Dr. Rachel Rigsby Department of Chemistry Belmont University 1900 Belmont Boulevard Nashville, TN 37212-3758 Phone: 615-460-6425 Email: rachel.rigsby@belmont.edu

Director; Collegiate Division Dr. Fred Matthews Department of Chemistry Austin Peay State University Clarksville, TN 37044 Phone: 931-221-7622 Fax: 931-221-6261 Email: matthewsf@apsu.edu

Annual Meeting Coordinator Dr. Allyn Smith Department of Physics and Astronomy Austin Peay State University Sundquist Science Complex, Room B339 Clarksville, TN 37044 Phone: 931-221-6104 Email: smithj@apsu.edu President-Elect Dr. Allyn Smith Department of Physics and Astronomy Austin Peay State University Sundquist Science Complex, Room B339 Clarksville, TN 37044 Phone: 931-221-6104 Email: smithj@apsu.edu

Assistant Editor Dr. Amy Thompson Department of Biology Austin Peay State University PO Box 4718 Clarksville, TN 37044 Phone: 931-221-6497 Email: thompsona@apsu.edu

Director, Electronic Communications Dr. Gilbert Pitts Department of Biology Austin Peay State University P.O. Box 4718 Clarksville, TN 37044 Phone: 931-221-7777 Fax: 931-221-6323 Email: pitts@@apsu.edu

Member-at-Large, 2016-2018; Dr. J. Allyn Smith Department of Physics and Astronomy Austin Peay State University Clarksville, TN 37044 Phone: 931-221-6104 Email: smithj@apsu.edu

Secretary Teresa L. Fulcher Department of Natural and Behavioral Sciences Pellissippi State Community College 10915 Hardin Valley Road Knoxville, TN 37933 Phone: 865-539-7048 Email: tfulcher@pstcc.edu

Department of Education Liaison

Director, Visiting Scientist Program Dr. Tony Johnston Department of Agribusiness and Agriscience Middle Tennessee State University Box 0005 Murfreesboro, TN 37132 Phone: 615-898-2421 Email: tony.johnston@mtsu.edu

Member-at-Large, 2017-2019: Dr. Duane Hatch Department of Chemistry & Physics Belmont University 1900 Belmont Blvd Nashville, TN 37212 Phone: 615-460-6880 Email: duane.hatch@belmont.edu

The TENNESSEE ACADEMY OF SCIENCE was founded in 1912 at Nashville, Tennessee. Membership is open to all teachers and professors of science, research workers in science both in educational institutions and industrial establishments, and all others who are interested in some phase of science. Annual dues for various categories of membership follow: student member—\$10; emeritus member—\$10; regular member—\$40; sustaining member—\$50; supporting member—\$100; life member—\$400 (single payment). Applications for membership should be addressed to the Treasurer.

The Journal of the Tennessee Academy of Science (ISSN 0040313X) is published by the Tennessee Academy of Science, Department of Biology, Belmont University, 1900 Belmont Boulevard, Nashville, TN 37212-3757, for all members not in arrears for dues. Back issues, if available, are \$10 per copy. Whole sets of back issues on microfilm are available from AMS Press, Inc., 56 E. 13th St., New York, NY 10003. Postage paid at Nashville, TN, and at other mailing offices. Send address change to the following: Journal of the Tennessee Academy of Science, c/o Dr. Steven Murphree, Department of Biology, Belmont University, 1900 Belmont Boulevard, Nashville, TN 37212-3757.

This journal is abstracted in *Biological Abstracts*, *Chemical Abstracts*, and the *Zoological Record*, and is indexed by *Science Citation Index* and *Agricola Citations*.

Tennessee Academy of Science Section Chairpersons-2018

Agriculture

Tony V. Johnston, Ph.D., CFS, MS, MPH School of Agribusiness and Agriscience Middle Tennessee State University P.O. Box 5 Murfreesboro, TN 37132 Phone: 615-898-2421 Email: tony.johnston@mtsu.edu

Botany

Sunny Fleming Natural Heritage Inventory Program Nashville, TN 37206 Phone: 615-243-6044 Email: sannfleming@gmail.com

Cell and Molecular Biology

Bonny B Millimaki Ph.D. Lipscomb University 1 University Park Drive Nashville, TN 37204 Phone: 615-772-1544 Email: Bbmillimaki@lipscomb.edu

Chemistry

Sarah Pierce Assistant Professor of Chemistry Cumberland University Lebanon, TN 37087 Email: spierce@cumberland.edu

Ecology and Environmental Science

Jeronimo Gomes Da Silva Neto Tennessee State University 3500 John A. Merritt Blvd Nashville TN 37209 Phone: 540-449-6663 Email: jgomesda@my.tnstate.edu

Engineering and Engineering Technology

John Byrd Austin Peay State University APSU at Fort Campbell P.O. Box 4536 Clarksville, TN 37044 Phone: 931-221-1474 Email: byrdJL@apsu.edu

Geology and Geography

Michael W. Bradley Ground-Water Investigations Lower Mississippi - Gulf Water Science Center Suite 100 640 Grassmere Park Nashville, TN 37211 Phone: 615-837-4703 Email: mbradley@usgs.gov Health and Medical Sciences Vacant

History of Science

Chair: Brother Kevin Ryan, CoChair: Martin V. Stewart Department of Chemistry Davis Science Bldg. 217 1301 East Main Street Murfreesboro, TN 37132-0001 Phone: 615-898-2073 Email: Martin.Stewart@mtsu.edu

Math and Computer Science

Sumen Sen Austin Peay State University P.O. Box 4416 Clarksville, TN 37044 Phone: 931-221-7827 Email: sens@apsu.edu

Microbiology

Chris Barton Department of Biology Belmont University 1900 Belmont Blvd. Nashville, TN 37212 Phone: 615-460-5714 Email: chris.barton@belmont.edu

Physics and Astronomy

Eugene de Silva Dept. of Natural Sciences Walters State Community College 500 South Davy Crockett Parkway Morristown, TN 37813-6899 Phone: 423-585-6890 Email: eldesilva@ws.edu

Science and Math Teaching

Weston Dulaney Columbia State Community College 1665 Hampshire Pike Warf 224 Columbia, TN 38401 Phone: 931-540-2617 Email: wdulaney@columbiastate.edu

Zoology

Juliann Waits Ph.D. Department of Natural Sciences, UM 238 Southwest Tennessee Community College 737 Union Ave. Memphis, TN 38103 Phone: 901-333-5226 Email: jlwaits@southwest.tn.edu